Prof. Dr. Utho Creusen

Prof. Dr. Utho CreusenProf. Dr. Utho Creusen

Utho Creusen was born in 1956, is married and has four children.

His life-long love of learning is reflected in his academic career. He studied economics, sociology and social psychology, finishing with a Master’s in economics in 1979. In 1983 he earned his doctorate and a post-doctorate degree in 1990. As he loves to impart knowledge as much as to gain it, he was awarded an honorary professorship at the Westphalian Wilhelms University at Münster. He has also held numerous lectures at internationally-renowned universities and colleges. In 2008 he received the honorary professorship of the Catholic University of Eichstätt/Ingolstadt.

Dr. Creusen has been in retail for more than 30 years. From 1979 through 2001 he was with OBI Baumarkt (a DIY retail chain). He left OBI from the position of Chairman of the Board of the OBI Franchise GmbH and a member of the OBI AG board. From March 2002 through March 2008 he was Chief HR Officer and member of the board of Media-Saturn-Holding GmbH (an electronics retail chain). Today Dr. Creusen is Non-Executive Board Member of the Russian retailer Mvideo and the international UK-based retailer Dixons Retail plc (both electronics retail chains) and the leading home-center chain Praktiker AG.

Furthermore he consults top-management in the area of Positive Leadership. He has published numerous articles and books on topics such as corporate leadership, organizational development, quality management, controlling and mergers.

From 1999 through 2001 he was president of the German Franchise Association. He was a member of the “Bildungsausschuss Deutscher Industrie- und Handelstag“(Educational Committee of German Industries and Trade) and Jury Chairman for the „Aus- und Weiterbildungspreis des Deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammertages (DIHK)“ (the Training and Development Prize awarded by the German Chambers of Commerce and Trade) as well as the Otto-Wolff-von Amerongen-Foundation from 1998 until 2008. His interest in Positive Pyschology led to his being named a member of the Advisory Board for the International Positive Psychology Summit. Since 2007 he has served as a member of the jury to award the European Retail Institute’s Scholarship.

In 2006, the Gallup International Positive Psychology Institute awarded him with the Corporate Award for Excellence in Practice. Additionally he won the distinction of being named an outstanding leader who uses the instruments of Positive Psychology to produce a positive and sustainable impact on the success of a company.

Prof. Dr. Utho Creusen

Prof. Dr. Utho CreusenProf. Dr. Utho Creusen

pflegt mit seiner Unternehmensberatung „Positive Leadership“ seit 2013 eine exklusive Partnerschaft mit authentic.consult.

Prof. Dr. Creusen studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre, Soziologie und Sozialpsychologie an der Universität zu Köln, wo er 1983 am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Renate Mayntz promovierte.

1990 folgte die Habilitation und 1998 die Ernennung zum Honorarprofessor an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Er bekleidete zahlreiche Lehraufträge an verschiedenen renommierten Hochschulen und Universitäten im In- und Ausland. 2008 folgte die Ernennung zum Honorarprofessor an der Katholischen Universität zu Eichstätt-Ingolstadt.
Er war fast 30 Jahre im Handel tätig: 1979 bis 2001 bei den OBI Bau- und Heimwerkermärkten GmbH & Co. KG, Wermelskirchen, zuletzt Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung des OBI Franchise Center GmbH und Mitglied des Vorstandes der OBI AG. Von 2002 bis März 2008 war er Mitglied der Geschäftsführung der Media-Saturn-Holding GmbH, Ingolstadt und verantwortlich für die Ressorts Personal, Kommunikation und Revision. Heute ist er als Senior Advisor für mehrere internationale Handelsunternehmen tätig, sowie als Non-Executive Director der russischen Mvideo und der englischen Dixons Retail plc mit Elektronikfachmärkten in ganz Europa und Aufsichtsrat der Praktiker AG.

Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen zu Fragen der Mitarbeiterführung, des Controlling, des Fusionsmanagements, der Organisationsentwicklung, des Qualitätsmanagements und der Unternehmensführung verfasste er im Laufe seiner beruflichen Tätigkeit.

Von 1999 – 2001 war er Präsident des Deutschen Franchise-Verbandes. Von 1998 – 2008 war er Mitglied des Bildungsausschusses des Deutschen Industrie- und Handelstages, zuletzt stellvertretender Vorsitzender. Von 2000 an bis 2008 hatte er den Vorsitz der Jury des Aus- und Weiterbildungspreises des Deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammertages (DIHK) und der Otto-Wolff-von-Amerongen-Stiftung inne. Von 1997 bis 2008 war er Beirat des Center für Hochschulentwicklung der Bertelsmann-Stiftung (CHE). Von 2004 bis 2008 war er Mitglied des „Advisory Board for the International Positive Psychology Summit” (jetzt “Well Being Conference”). 2007 wurde er zum Vorsitzenden der Jury des Wissenschaftspreises des European Retail Institutes (EHI), Köln ernannt. 2008 folgte seine Wahl ins Präsidium des MMM Club für Moderne Markt-Methoden.

Im Jahre 2006 erfolgte die Auszeichnung mit dem „Corporate Award for Excellence in Practice“ vom Gallup International Positive Psychology Institute. Diese stellt die Leistung herausragender Führungspersönlichkeiten heraus, die durch die Nutzung von Instrumenten der Positiven Psychologie den Unternehmenserfolg positiv und nachhaltig beeinflussen.